The Same Exact Problem Yet Again!

Some of you might remember from my Winterfest post that I was having some trouble playing notes below middle G, but it was fixed with a new reed. Yeah, that same thing happened again, but it wasn’t the reed. I tried at least five other reeds, all different sizes, and it still wasn’t working.

I am also kind of nervous because I am going on another trip with my band and I’m performing with the eighth graders! (I’m only in seventh) This is great and all, but if they hear me squeaking a lot, they aren’t going to take me seriously! And in all of my parts, the saxophones have the melody at least a few times, so everyone is going to hear me mess up.

So that’s where you guys come in. I would like all of you saxophonists to help me find out what the problem is, and leave a comment on what you think the problem is, and how I could solve it. My trip is on March 1, so hurry…please?

Here’s what I know about it:

  • No notes below middle G will come out
  • If I get lucky and they do come out, they will mostly be squeaks
  • My reed is currently a Rico Royal size 3
  • None of my reeds are broken or bent
  • I took my saxophone in today, and it is somewhat working now
  • I need help

Please feel free to leave a comment, and I will try just about anything. I will definitely blog about the trip when it is over on March 3, but until then, comment away!

Leave a Reply

